Ticktbox Virtual Screenings FAQ
Are screenings still first-come, first-served?
Yes, online screenings are still overbooked like a theater screening to ensure a full turnout. Not every one that RSVPs will be available to view. Approximately one hour before the screening starts, you will receive your link to view the screening. As soon as you click the link you reserve your spot to view the screening, just like getting in line for a theater screening. The sooner you click the link, the better chance you have at reserving your spot. Once your spot is reserved, you can keep the browser window open, or if you close it, you can still rejoin with your spot reserved with the same link in your email.
What happens if I lose connection with my computer?
If you lose connection or need to pause the video, you may be allotted a brief amount of time to rejoin the screening. This allotment is typically 15-30 minutes, but depending on the security features for certain movies, this is not guaranteed. If you pause for longer than this period, the movie will automatically resume, and pausing will no longer be available. If you are disconnected for an extended period, you will not be able to rejoin.
Why is my name/email on the video?
You are watching a special screening of the film before its official release. For security reasons, the watermark and other anti-piracy measures are in place.
What devices can I use to watch the screening?
Our online screenings are compatible with most computers, laptops, and mobile devices. We recommend Chrome or Firefox (Safari and Edge are also supported). For the best experience, we recommend watching on a large screen versus a mobile device.
How can I watch it on my TV?
If you connect a computer or laptop to your TV via HDMI, you would be able to view there. Due to security and anti-piracy measures, certain cast options such as Airplay or Fire TV Stick are restricted.
Can I pause the screening?
Typically yes, you may be allotted a brief amount of time should you need to pause. This allotment is roughly 15-30 minutes - should you exceed this time, the movie will automatically resume, and pausing will no longer be available. Depending on the security features for certain movies, this is not guaranteed.
Can I watch on multiple devices?
No, unfortunately, you are only able to watch from a single device. Once you start viewing the screening, you must continue with that device for the rest of the film.
Page says: Screening already started.
Screenings begin promptly at their start time, and unfortunately, once that time passes we cannot admit anyone else to start viewing. Keep an eye out for future events to view another screening soon!
Page says: Link Already Used.
Each viewer for screenings will receive a unique link to view. This link is only valid for one user. If you attempt to share the link with others, you will be removed from the screening.
I am seeing buffering with the video.
Please ensure your device does not have any ongoing downloads or streams in the background – for example downloading a video game or streaming a different video in another tab may affect performance. In the video player, you can click the settings option to change quality (or set to auto) to reduce buffering.
The video isn’t playing.
Check your Internet connection to ensure you have a good network signal. After that, if you are still having an issue, ensure you have the most updated version of your browser. You can also try restarting your browser or computer/device. We recommend Chrome or Firefox (Safari and Edge are also supported).